Krav Maga & Spartan spirit

For a long time now I’ve been looking for something that would complement my Spartan training, I wanted something functional,practical and physical… I found that this week in “Krav Maga”.

Krav Maga is a self-defense system developed for the special forces in Israel that consists of a wide combination of techniques sourced from aikido, boxing, judo and wrestling along with realistic fight training. Krav Maga is known for its focus on real-world situations and its extremely efficient and brutal counter-attacks.

My first lesson with Krav Maga Elite was intense,physical,useful and bloody. In a class of approx 30-40, we started with a warm up and this already was the beginnings of a functional lesson, slow build up but stop/start excercise designed to get you thinking on your feet or on the floor, depending on the instructors command. 

Then we started learning some techniques in pairs. I always had always had a mental block here, where the instructors step by step instructions leave my mind the minute I turn away to practice the moves myself, is that the same for everyone? I was determined to tell myself that this would not be the case and this time my mind would take in the steps… 

I felt I did a better job and the instruction felt functional and natural, so when I did the moves they had a purpose. Practice makes perfect, so I know it’s a matter of time but at this stage I’m confident these new skills could be learnt.
My favorite part of that section of the training was when the instructor stopped to tell us to be aware of what’s going on around us and not to get drawn into attacking our assailant, he, the instructor, had tapped us all on the back but only a handful had realized. Being aware is something I have practiced and improved mentally, so I wanted to get this useful lesson in my head from a physical perspective,we restarted and this time situational awareness kicked in as I noticed the instructors weaving in amongst the groups.
Finally, as we approached the last part of the class, it was time for the pressure to be applied and the intensity to be increased. This was probably my favorite part. We was paired off, people without sparring gloves, that was me, would stick in the same group.

We was on our knees,facing our opponent.The objective for the next minute was to get your man down, better him and at the end of the minute the instructor would call it. Then you would switch to someone else and do it again.

It began,I had no plan other than aggression and determination,this worked well and after several successful “bouts” I found myself without an ungloved opponent. My fitness and stubbornness to quit had been the victor here as men younger than me sat on the side waving my advances away with a “I’m gonna sit this one out mate”. 

I was exhausted,energy depleted but my ego was inflated and my heart was strong.. I looked at the instructor and he waved me towards a gloved,more experienced opponent. It was now I would learn my lesson through failure but I was ok with that. As I squared of against my opponent,still on our knees I realized this was going to be interesting. 

He had the gloves and all the gear,combined with a look of ability and confidence..oh and 20 years less wear and tear. I dove at his chest, surprising him and briefly pinning him to the ground before he twisted free,catching me with multiple blows before pinning me. My time was over, we faced off and he said “you better get that sorted mate”. What I thought was additional sweat was in fact blood, I had picked up a blow to the head and my first war wound. I was pleased… 

I sorted myself out and returned to the mat, I was ready to go again and couple more successful engagements with my now slightly recovered gloveless friends and the session was called to an end. We finished with 1 legged burpees, just to make sure we had nothing left and then stretches to warm down. 2 hours had almost passed.

This was a great class and experience,despite the aches that followed that evening. Why did I like it? Because the training and Spartan attitude I have developed over the last few years was relevant and more than anything the ability to find that grit was my advantage. I also enjoyed the physical intensity,it was relentless. I learnt a lot in that session and without a doubt will return again…. 

The journey continues… Aaaaarrrrrooooo!!!!

@theurbanspartan

This entry was posted in Body, Mind & Spirit. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment